Access Keys:

Tickets are now on sale for the PTA Christmas Raffle - great prizes sponsored by local businesses!
open new window

6th year Graduation, May 2019

26th May 2019

A week of celebration in St. Farnan’s - 

Last week was a week of special celebrations for the St. Farnan’s school community. On Tuesday, May 21st, the Transition Year class of 2018-2019 showcased their many projects and activities from throughout the year and they celebrated their achievements in the presence of school management, their families and invited guests.

The celebrations continued on Thursday, May 23rd when a very large crowd celebrated the Graduation of our 6th year cohort of students. A very inspiring and moving ceremony was hosted by the 6th year students and it also involved school management, their Year Head, Ms. Breda Cronin, tutors, parents, 1st year students and members of the school’s Board of Management. The Graduation Committee, led by Ms. Cronin, ensured that a beautiful selection of readings, musical pieces, poetry and prayers was complimented by the wonderful accompaniment of the school’s highly accomplished Trad. Group.

As well as presenting Graduation Certificates to all of the Leaving Certificate students, a number of special awards were also announced. Special Recognition Awards for their Academic Achievements were given to Úna Loftus, Sarah O’Rourke, Chloe Heffernan and Max Baldwin, while the Citizenship Awards were presented to Liam Dempsey, Emily Gallen, Jay Dwyer and Ciara Moran.

All of the senior Prefects were presented with badges, certificates and gifts in grateful appreciation of their sterling work throughout the school year and in particular for their work with the junior students in the school.

In acknowledgement of their outstanding progress in their Irish Language studies, Fáinne awards were presented to Josh Ivers, Roisín Dwyer, Tammie O’Neill and Liam Dempsey.

To warm applause, Sarah O’Rourke collected two further awards, the Silver Gaisce Award and the NUI Maynooth Award for exceptional academic achievement.

Megan Price, Liam Dempsey and Úna Loftus were deemed the year’s outstanding athletes and were presented with the school’s Exceptional Sportperson Awards by members of the PE Department, while Ciara Moran was awarded the prestigious Ray O’Malley Cup in recognition to her outstanding contribution to sport in the school, and particularly her generous mentoring of the younger players.